3rd/4th Jan 1980

’twas the 3rd of January…
…then the 4th of January

Oh dear, the party was boring from the fun point of view, but enlightening (V.) from the “intellectual point of view” ? Not sure what 17YO-Me is trying to say here, but feel certain it would have to do with conversing with a boy (shock) because that, in her world, would translate as both enlightening and intellectual. Bless her, I think I’d trip her up if I met her in the school corridors!

Right now, all I’m learning from these diary entries is how thoroughly small my world was back then. There’s no mention of Margaret Thatcher leading the country, no mention of an imminent Miners’ strike, no mention even of teachers’ names or family members, just the incredibly tight circle that I’m a part of. Are all teenagers like this? Is this normal behaviour for a 17-YO or was this what life was like in the sheltered 80’s?

Leave a comment